Skip to Content Top

How to Beat a DUI in Idaho


If you have been stopped by law enforcement under suspicion of driving while under the influence (DUI), you need to think fast and contact legal representation. DUI charges need to be taken seriously—this isn’t just a traffic ticket that will go away with simply paying a small fine. 

Being charged with a DUI is a confusing and overwhelming event. Our legal professionals are here to investigate the details of your case and our goal is to find weaknesses in the prosecution’s case. Each case is unique and the lawyers at Trilogy Law Group have extensive experience defending motorists charged and are ready to help you beat a DUI in Idaho. 

Idaho’s DUI Laws

Idaho has specific laws on impaired driving and may impose harsh penalties on you for breaking these laws. The benchmark for measuring blood alcohol content (BAC) is a blood or breathalyzer test. If you measure over 0.08 and are 21 or older, you may be arrested for drinking and driving. 

These rules change for certain groups. For example, you may be charged for a BAC level over 0.02 if you are under 21. Commercial vehicle drivers must be below 0.04 to avoid these penalties.  

Though there are set BAC limits police officers look for, testing below these limits does not mean you can’t be charged. The presence of illicit or prescription drugs in your body and visual signs of impairment can land you in hot water as well. Factors such as slurred speech, slow response time, alteration in your pupils, and clarity of your eyes are noted. 

Refusal of a chemical test at the request of law enforcement agents is not advised and comes with mandatory penalties. When obtaining your driver’s license, you give implied consent to these tests, and by refusing you are violating this agreement. 

The penalties for a DUI vary based on the details of your case. If you refuse a chemical test, you will incur a license suspension and a fine of $250. Fines for DUI charges range from $1,000 to $5,000 based on the judge’s discretion and the number of offenses. Interlock devices may be mandatory and jail time and license suspension are always factors. 

Top Defenses for an Idaho DUI 

If you find yourself facing DUI charges, you have options. It’s important to connect with attorneys who focus on DUI defense, as we know what to look for. We will review all of the evidence and ask the right questions and ensure there was just cause for your traffic stop. 

Below are just a few possibilities for your DUI defense: 

  • A lack of probable cause 
  • Faulty testing 
  • Medical conditions that mimic impairment 

Seek Out a DUI Lawyer to Beat Idaho DUI Charges

Your best bet in beating DUI charges in Idaho is to contact attorneys who are well-versed in Idaho law and have extensive knowledge of DUI law. It is important to stay calm, be cooperative, and don’t participate in any questionable behavior before your trial. 

The greatest chance for a positive outcome is top-tier legal representation. The team at Trilogy Law Group will create a personalized defense strategy for you. Contact us today by calling (208) 415-9943 or completing the online form below.