Skip to Content Top

What Happens if You Get a DUI Under 21


Across the U.S., the legal age to drink is 21 years old. However, when you are young and having fun with your friends, you may not think of the severe consequences of getting pulled over for operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. 

Being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) is frightening. The impact this charge has on your wallet, your license, your personal relationships, and your job is severe. Each state has strict laws prohibiting driving while impaired. However, they all have subtle differences. 

By securing legal representation knowledgeable in Idaho law, you ensure your best chance at a favorable outcome. Trilogy Law Group has a strong team of attorneys who know all aspects of DUI law. 

What Is a Juvenile DUI?

Driving under the influence refers to the act of operating any motor vehicle while impaired by intoxicating substances such as alcohol, illicit or prescription drugs, or any other substance that may alter your perception. If you’re stopped as an adult, you may be charged with a DUI if your blood alcohol content (BAC) level is 0.08 or greater

For minors, if you are stopped and found to have a BAC level of 0.02 or greater, you will be facing stiff penalties and fines. These penalties can follow you for some time, and they can impact your life in major ways. 

Legal Consequences of a DUI While Under 21

First offenders will be facing a fine of up to $1,000 and a one-year license suspension. If eligible, you will be able to apply for a restricted drivers license where you may be allowed to go to work and school. 

The second time you are stopped for violating this law, the penalties increase. There is a possibility of being sentenced to up to thirty days in jail, fines between $500 to $2,000, and a license suspension for two years with an application for a restricted license after one year. You will also be mandated to install an ignition interlock device (IID) for one year. 

Third-time offenders will find steeper punishments in store. These include ten days to six months of jail time, up to $2,000 in fines, and over one year of license suspension with mandated IID installation for longer periods. 

All juveniles facing DUI charges will also be required to undergo a substance abuse evaluation and will need to complete the suggested treatment program recommended for them. In addition to this penalty, if anyone under the age of 21 is found with a BAC of 0.08 or greater, they will also risk being charged with the standard DUI penalties for those of age. 

How Your DUI Lawyer Can Help 

If you’re under 21, taking on the court system on your own in defense of a DUI can lead to disaster for you and your future. As experienced defense attorneys, we have a vast knowledge of Idaho laws. We thoroughly investigate the details of your arrest including investigating the cause of your stop and the testing and equipment used to determine intoxication.

Steep fines, jail time, mandatory counseling, and driving restrictions are serious penalties. A skilled legal team is well-versed in strategies to lessen your fines and punishments. Connect with us today as we have extensive experience in DUI law and will advocate for you. 

Contact Trilogy Law Group today by calling (208) 415-9943 or completing the online form below.