Skip to Content Top

DUI in Idaho: How Does it Differ from an OUI?


OUI stands for “Operating Under the Influence” while DUI stands for “Driving Under the Influence”. The meaning of both terms might be different but fall under the same category of a criminal offense, depending upon the state you are living in.

When it comes to driving while drunk, every state has different terms. For example, DUI in Idaho means any car driver can be caught by the police if he has an active driving license and driving under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.8 or more.

How to Distinguish OUI from DUI in Idaho?

The term OUI means “operating” of a motor car or vehicle if you have consumed alcohol, marijuana, prescribed drugs, or other controlled substances as defined by U.S. drunk driving laws. In any such case, you can be charged if found operating a vehicle on roads that is accessible to the local public. If your BAC is found more than 0.08% You can be charged with a DUI or if the police officer finds sufficient evidence against your ability to drive a motor vehicle.

How to Spot a DUI Driver:

  • Zig Zagging across the road
  • Crossing traffic lines
  • Weaving or turning sharply
  • Stopping the vehicle without reason
  • Driving very fast or slow
  • Unconsciously slow response to traffic signals
  • The more you see these signs, the greater the chance that the driver is under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs.

What to Do in Order to Avoid DUI in Idaho?

The most appropriate way to avoid a DUI in Idaho is to not drink and drive. Even if you are with a group of friends, hire a sober driver, take a taxi, or take precautionary measures before you go out drinking like to have someone drive you home.

Where Can You Get Charged with A OUI in the U.S.?

The term OUI is often used in certain states, related to a DWI or DUI or, in some states, DWAI. You can be accused with an OUI in the following states:

  • Maine
  • Alaska
  • Connecticut
  • Massachusetts
  • Boise

In the state of Boise, you can be charged with an OUI anywhere the public has access to and places, where there are social gatherings or people, have licenses or invitations to visit.

What Are the Penalties if You Are Charged for OUI/DUI in Idaho?

If you are charged for the first time driving under the influence, you are subjected to pay a fine between $500-$5,000 and a driver’s license suspension from 45 days to one year. There’s one more possibility of a jail sentence of up to 2.5 years and depending on the severity of the crime. In case you refuse to submit the report of a chemical test, that can add a suspension of your driving license up to 180 days.

There are some exceptions for first-time offenders; like they are eligible for the 24D disposition, which has comparatively a reduced license suspension of 45-90 days, 1-year probation period, and bound to complete the driver alcohol education program (DAE).

For second-time offenders, there is a $600-$10,000 fine, jail time up to 2.5 years, and a 2-year license suspension.

Third-time offenders are considered as felonies with $1,000-$15,000 in fines, 8-year license suspension, and compulsory jail sentence.

Intoxication Levels (OUI Vs. DUI):

According to U.S. law, the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) in Boise is .08 percent. Nevertheless, an offender can be arrested and charged with OUI/DUI if their BAC is over .06 percent. Boise has an implicit consent policy, which complies that if you are arrested for an OUI or DUI, you have to agree to a breathalyzer test. In case of failing to do so, will result in higher penalties.

In the case of professional drivers, you can be charged if your BAC is .04 or more. Young drivers (under 21 years old) cannot have a BAC over .02 as part of Idaho’s Zero Tolerance Policy. In 2000, Idaho police reported 1,790 crashes that involved a driver or pedestrian with a BAC of .01 or more.

Who to Contact If You Are Charged With A DUI/OUI?

The foremost thing you should do when you are charged with a DUI/OUI is to contact a DUI attorney. An experienced attorney is all you need to help you win your case or put you in the best position to be successful or set yourself free of charges. They will be able to guide you best through the legal proceedings.