Skip to Content Top

What Are the Types of DUI Charges in Idaho?


Idaho laws frown upon driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. There are severe penalties for drivers that operate under the influence. The circumstances surrounding the driver’s arrest and conviction determine the severity of these penalties.

In Idaho, there are various types of DUI charges. Therefore, Idaho drivers need to familiarize themselves with them, hence, this article. If you get arrested for driving while impaired, contact a DUI lawyer immediately.

Five Types of DUI Charges in Idaho

Below, we list the different types of charges you’ll likely face for driving under the influence in Idaho.

Regular or Standard DUI Charges

In Idaho, if the police catch a driver driving under the influence and with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 and above, they will face a regular or standard DUI charge. These types of DUI charges usually have no additional conditions, such as aggravated DUI, excessive DUI, etc. It is in three categories:

  • First Offense DUI: The driver gets up to six months jail time, fines of up to $1,000, and license suspension for about 90 to 210 days.
  • Second Offense DUI: The driver might have between ten days to one year of jail time, fines of up to $2,000, and license suspension for at least a year.
  • Third Offense DUI: The driver might be in jail for 30 days to ten years, fines of up to $5,000, and license suspension between one and five years.

Aggravated DUI

When a driver faces an aggravated DUI charge in Idaho, it means they have other offenses aside from driving under the influence. Three common scenarios can lead to an aggravated DUI charge in Idaho.

The first is if the intoxicated driver causes a car accident that leads to another driver’s injury or death. Another instance is if the driver causes serious injury or death to a passenger or passengers in their vehicle. The last example is if the driver causes severe injury or death to a pedestrian or cyclist.

A driver charged with aggravated DUI can be subject to:

  • A prison term of up to 15 years
  • Payment of fines of up to $5,000
  • Driver’s license suspension: from between one to five years

Juvenile or Underage DUI Charges

When an Idaho driver under 21 years gets caught driving under the influence, such a driver will face a juvenile DUI charge. Thus, if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of over .02%, it is best not to operate a vehicle.

The punishment includes:

  • A clinical drug or alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory drug or alcohol rehabilitation
  • Mandatory driver’s license suspension for one year
  • A fine of up to $1,000 and additional court costs

Excessive DUI

Excessive DUI charges are given to drivers with a 0.20% BAC or more, significantly higher than the laid down limit of .08%. An excessive DUI charge attracts stricter penalties compared to a standard DUI charge.

A driver’s conviction for their first excessive DUI charge is considered to be a misdemeanor. However, the second conviction within five years will result in a felony DUI charge. The convicted driver might face a minimum of ten days of jail time.

However, the state has the right to impose up to 365 days of jail time. Furthermore, there is a mandatory one-year absolute driver’s license suspension. In addition, the driver will pay some fines, which might total to $2,000, maximum.

Commercial Driver DUI Charges

There are a lot of commercial vehicles in Idaho today, and they range from trucks to buses. Therefore, the possession of a commercial driver’s license determines and affects the commercial driver’s penalties when charged with DUI. No one is legally allowed to control a moving commercial vehicle if their BAC is .04 or more.

Commercial drivers found with this alcohol level in their body system can face additional penalties than a non-commercial driver would. They include:

  • Suspension of commercial driver’s license for a year
  • A prohibition from driving commercial vehicles for life (second DUI conviction)
  • Payment of $300 to $1,000 fines
  • 40 hours of community service

Get an Experienced DUI Attorney to Represent You!

If you are facing any of the above DUI charges, time is of the essence. So, you have to contact a DUI lawyer immediately to assist you with your case. Having a DUI charge on your record can leave you with long-lasting consequences. So, when you get in touch with us today, we will see how we can help your case.

Our professional attorneys offer free consultations to clients. We are also available anytime you require our services. So, please do not delay in contacting us now.