Skip to Content Top

How Much Does a First DUI in Idaho Cost?


You may have read about the range of penalties that a DUI citation incurs. However, most people are typically unaware of the actual cost of a DUI charge. If you have been charged with DUI, be prepared to dish out thousands of dollars by the time your case is resolved. If you are unaware of the costs involved, you may end up paying a lot more than you absolutely need to. This is why it is important to know the various aspects of a DUI case and the average costs associated with them. A DUI lawyer in Idaho can help with this. Here is a rundown of the costs you will typically incur after you are charged with DUI.

Bail Bond Amount

The first thing you do after a DUI arrest is to get bail. This costs money. In most DUI cases, the bail is set at $500. You can pay the amount out of your pocket and get out. The good thing about the bail bond is that you will get the entire amount back at the end of your case.

In case you don’t have the money right away, you can borrow it from a bail bondsman. The bondsman will charge you 10% of the sum plus posting fees. In all, this will set you back around $100 if a bondsman posts bail on your behalf.

Court Costs

When your DUI case goes to a hearing in the court, you are required to pay the court costs. These are typically around $200 for a DUI case and remain the same for most cases. However, if you can demonstrate that you can’t afford it, you can plead with the court to waive these costs.

Court Fines

If you have been charged with DUI, you will be asked by the court to pay a fine. This fine can range anywhere between $500 and $1,000. If there is no accident, injury or disrespectful behavior from your side, your lawyer can seek a lenient fine, usually $500.

On the other hand, if there was recklessness from your end or your blood alcohol level (BAC) was substantially higher, you may face a $1,000 fine. If the BAC is above 0.20%, the fine may go up to $2,000 but that is relatively rare.

SR22 Insurance Costs

After a DUI citation, your driver’s license is automatically suspended. You are then required by the Idaho Transportation Department to acquire SR22 insurance. This is a high-risk insurance policy that you must have for at least 3 years after a DUI arrest.

The insurance costs around $10 to $25 per month. You can research the insurers in your city and find one that offers the best rate. The total cost of maintaining the policy for three years ranges from around $350 to $1,000.

License Reinstatement Fee

After your driver’s license is suspended, you need to pay reinstatements fees to have it reinstated. The fees are paid to the Idaho Transportation Department. In a DUI case, you face two separate license suspensions. One is imposed by the court and the other by the DMV. So you must pay reinstatement fees for both suspensions.

The reinstatement fee for the court suspension is $285 while the fee for the DMV suspension is $245. In all, you pay $530 for both suspensions before your license could be reinstated.

Alcohol Evaluation and Treatment

A court will ask you to undergo alcohol evaluation after a DUI arrest. Based on the results of the evaluation, you will then be asked to seek treatment. The costs for evaluation and treatment range from $290 to $520.

Ignition Interlock

As of 2019, all DUI convicts are required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles. This applies even to first time DUI offenders. The full cost of device installation, monthly fee and removal costs around $1,035.

Hiring a DUI Lawyer in Idaho

Another important expense in a DUI case is hiring a private attorney. You will inevitably need an attorney if you want to seek minimum penalties. The cost of hiring an attorney varies wildly, so it is best to research a bit before making a decision. Some attorneys will charge retainer fees while others will work with you on a flat-fee basis. In general, it is preferable to hire a good attorney who offers a flat fee.

Other Costs

In addition to the costs cited above, you may be required to pay for a victim impact panel. You will also face increased insurance rates for a few years after a DUI arrest. In all, the total cost of a DUI charge in Idaho is around $5,000 to $15,000. This is a fairly wide range and you can expect to pay the minimum sum if you make the right decisions.

A DUI Lawyer in Idaho That Can Help You

Here at Boise DUI Guy, we offer legal services at highly affordable rates. Our ultimate aim is to help you seek minimum DUI penalties and we advise you on how best to mitigate the overall costs of your DUI case. Contact our law firm today and get in touch with a DUI lawyer in Idaho. You can discuss your case in a FREE consultation with our attorneys before you choose to hire us.