Boise Underage DUI Lawyer
Being accused of driving under the influence (DUI) is a traumatic experience, never mind if you are underage. These accusations are serious and can affect the promising future that lies ahead. Consumption and possession of alcohol by anyone under 21 is illegal in Idaho.
The penalties associated with impaired driving continue to become harsher and are strictly enforced. Do not risk fines, jail time, loss of licensure, and a permanent mark on your record at such a young age. Your best chance at a positive outcome is to contact a Boise underage DUI lawyer as soon as possible. At Trilogy Law Group we specialize in fighting DUI charges.
What Are Idaho’s Underage DUI Laws?
Idaho law states that it’s illegal to operate any type of motor vehicle if you are under the influence of any intoxicant whether it be alcohol, drugs of any sort, or any substance that alters your perception. DUI penalties change from year to year in response to ever-changing laws. Our defense attorneys are well-versed in the laws specific to Idaho.
Any Boise driver with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of more than 0.08 may be arrested for a DUI if they’re pulled over and tested by the police. As an underage driver, if your BAC level is 0.02 or greater you will be subject to misdemeanor charges. That can mean severe penalties for an underage driver, whether this is your first offense or not.
Connecting with Boise defense attorneys who specialize in DUI cases ensures that you receive the best defense and are informed of all of the details of your case every step of the way. Penalties can be severe and the stigma of charges can follow you for a lifetime.
Penalties for a Boise Underage DUI Offense
Even a first-time Boise DUI conviction can lead to steep penalties that may be difficult to recover from. For your first offense, fines can reach up to $1,000 with a one-year suspension of your license. Restricted licenses can be requested after ninety days.
For a second offense, the penalties steepen. You are subject to five to thirty days in jail with fines up to $2,000. A two-year license suspension will be in effect with the ability to obtain a restricted license after one year. Following this suspension, an ignition interlock device is mandatory for one year on the vehicle that you operate.
An ignition interlock device (IID) will be required for second DUI violations and above. An IID is a Breathalyzer connected to the vehicle ignition. Your vehicle will not start unless the operator has alcohol-free breath. These machines can be costly, but they may also be necessary for those who depend on their cars to work or attend school.
For all underage DUI offenses, the driver has to complete a mandatory substance abuse evaluation. Any education or treatment program that is recommended as part of the evaluation is a legal requirement.
What If I Refuse a Sobriety Test?
If a Breathalyzer is refused, the state will impose civil penalties. When you receive your Idaho driver’s license, you give your implied consent to breath testing when requested by law enforcement personnel. When you refuse this request, you are now considered to be in violation of your agreement when you obtained your license.
If you violate that agreement, your license will be suspended even if you weren’t driving under the influence. Even if you defend your Boise underage DUI case with a lawyer’s guidance, you may be unable to avoid the penalties for refusing a sobriety test.
Even if you suspect you may be over the legal limit, it’s typically best to take the test and let a Boise DUI attorney fight for you. Your lawyer can pursue the top defense for your case and can defend you in the courtroom, rather than accepting an automatic suspension.
Seek Out an Underage DUI Lawyer in Boise
There are many variables when it comes to DUI charges. By connecting with an experienced legal team, you have professionals that will investigate weaknesses in the case against you in regard to testing and documentation. We understand how much an underage DUI offense can impact your future and your record, and we’re here to help you avoid those penalties.
When you’re ready to take action, let a Boise underage DUI lawyer represent you in the courtroom to get your charges reduced or dismissed. Contact the DUI defense attorneys at Trilogy Law Group today by calling 208-968-9060 or completing the online form below to take the first step in protecting your future.