Skip to Content Top

Three Things You Should Know About Idaho DUI Laws


Many people ask before they leave a bar or other situation involving alcohol, “Is it safe to drive?” Many of them find themselves being pulled over after that question and facing legal penalties. Idaho’s DUI laws are some of the toughest in the nation. 

Luckily, you don’t have to face them alone. Here are three things drivers should know about Idaho’s DUI laws

What’s a DUI in Idaho?

Idaho DUI laws punish drunk drivers, protect public safety, and keep roads safe. The prosecution punishes DUI offenders harshly due to the serious consequences. Idaho DUI laws limit dangerous driving and ensure road safety. 

Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08 percent or higher is an Idaho DUI. Exceeding this legal “limit” is a crime punishable by jail time, fines, license suspension, and other penalties. If their BAC is over 0.02 percent, a minor under 21 can be charged with DUI. Commercial drivers have a 0.04 BAC limit.

You can also be arrested and charged with DUI if your BAC is between 0.02 and 0.08 percent but you show signs of impairment while driving, such as poor sobriety test performance.

Remember that drinking isn’t illegal unless it impairs your driving. Thus, even if your BAC is below the legal limit, police may charge you with DUI if your mental or motor functions are impaired by alcohol or drugs.

Due to Idaho’s DUI laws’ broad scope and potential for misinterpretation without legal experience, anyone facing such charges should consult an experienced DUI lawyer.

What Are Idaho’s DUI Penalties?

If convicted of an Idaho DUI, drivers with a BAC of 0.08 or higher may be fined, suspended, or even imprisoned. When drivers under 21 are caught driving with a BAC between 0.02 and 0.07, they may still be punished, including license suspension.

Fines depend on prior offenses, BAC level at arrest, and other factors. In addition to financial penalties, those convicted may have a suspended or revoked license and must complete an alcohol rehabilitation program to get their license back. If the offender needs their license for work or commuting, this can be especially costly. Chemical test violations may incur additional fees like Ignition Interlock Device installation (IID).

Depending on intoxication and aggravating factors, those found guilty may also be imprisoned. If a drunk driver causes property damage or injury, they may face harsher penalties than fines or license revocation. An Idaho DUI attorney can help reduce or even dismiss these penalties. 

How Can I Avoid DUIs?

When you’re arrested for drinking and driving, it’s vital to take the right steps to defend your case and avoid future penalties. That can be tough when you’re already facing evidence from the courts. 

Due to a malfunctioning breathalyzer, an anonymous source falsely accusing someone, or other factors, some Idaho residents may be charged with DUI despite their best efforts. An experienced defense attorney can help protect your rights in this case.

Idaho DUI laws can be navigated with dedication and awareness. Understanding that each situation is different and taking precautions before engaging in behavior that could violate the law is key. With that understanding and the help of experienced attorneys, people can try to follow these laws.

Get a Lawyer’s Help to Defend Your Case 

Accused of a DUI? Understanding Idaho DUI laws is only half the battle. You may need to take action now to get answers and seek out a strong defense for your case. The lawyers at Trilogy Law Group are here to help you do that. 

If you’ve been accused of a DUI, reach out for guidance that can help you get your charges reduced or even dismissed. When you’re ready, call (208) 415-9943 or fill out the following online contact form for more information.