Driver’s License Reinstatement: What’s the Procedure?

There are several reasons why one may have their driver’s license suspended in Idaho. One of them is for driving under the influence or DUI. If your license has been suspended for intoxicated driving, don’t hesitate to call on an experienced and successful DUI Attorney.

A lawyer lets you know your options and provides solutions. One of such options is filing an appeal after a license suspension or getting a restricted driving permit. Our DUI lawyers explain what you need to do to get your license reinstated in this article.

How Do I Get My License Back After a Dui In Idaho?

If the state has suspended your license, you can begin the process for reinstatement. But, again, your lawyer will be in the best position to guide you on what steps to take.

You can’t request for driver’s license reinstatement so soon after its suspension. The law allows a certain period after the suspension before you can make this request. Your lawyer will let you know the right time to ask for reinstatement.

To begin the reinstatement process, your attorney would need the following documents:

  • Your driver’s license or Social Security Number.
  • Your name as it appears on your driver’s license.
  • Proof of liability insurance (SR-22)
  • Your date of birth

The fees for license reinstatement range from $25 to $285, depending on the offense. For example, if you refused a BAC test or had an out-of-state conviction for DUI, your license reinstatement will cost $245.

If you had an in-state conviction or withheld judgment for DUI, your reinstatement will cost $285. In addition, you may need an SR-22 form to get your license reactivated. The SR-22 shows that you have met the minimum Idaho requirements for auto insurance.

The fee could go above $285 if you have had multiple suspensions.

Reasons for Driver’s License Suspension in Idaho

Idaho has driving laws that guide and protect people’s safety. When a driver breaks these laws, it can lead to a suspension or revocation of their driving privilege. Below are the reasons for a suspension.

  • Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (DUI/DWI)

You can get your license suspended for driving under alcohol or drugs. Punishment for drunk or drug-using drivers in Idaho can be heavy depending on the gravity of the violation. Typically, a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more is enough to convict a driver of intoxication.

The license can be suspended for a first offender for 90 days, plus a withdrawal of driving privileges for the first 30 days. In some cases, a first offense can also attract a jail term.

A second offense may attract suspension for one or two years, and a third or more violation a suspension of up to five years. In addition, the license of a driver who refuses to undergo a blood/alcohol test can also get suspended.

  • A Driver With No Car Insurance

Idaho’s driving laws mandate that all motor vehicles be adequately insured. Failure to comply can lead to suspension. A driver receives a warning for not showing proof of insurance. The driver will also be required to provide proof of insurance within 30 days.

Failure to do so within the specified time frame can lead to a revocation of the license. In addition, repeat offenders stand to get harsher penalties and can be looking at up to half a year in jail.

Boise DUI Lawyer

  • When a Driver Picks Up Many Points for Driving Violations

In Idaho, drivers are penalized based on the point system. Therefore, the more points a driver accumulates through driving violations, the harsher the punishment the driver faces. For example, a driver with 12 or 17 points in a year on their current driver record will be suspended for 30 days.

However, if a driver gets between 18 to 32 points in two years, the state will issue a suspension of 90 days on the license. Also, if the points rise to 24 over three years, the driver gets a six-month suspension.

  • Driving With a False Identity

A driver found using an illegal ID can be suspended. For example, a driver purchasing alcohol with a driver’s license, not theirs, or a driver handing their license to another driver.

  • Psychological or Physical Disability

Idaho can suspend a driver’s license if the driver has been properly examined and found to be physically or psychologically unfit to drive safely.

  • Conviction of Other Driving-Related Violations

Suspension of a driver’s license can happen when the driver is found guilty of breaking other traffic laws such as parking rules on a public highway, reckless driving, or being a defaulter in an auto accident.

Also, a driver charged with using a car to commit a felony, failure to pay accident damages, fleeing an accident scene after causing damage, or fleeing from an officer, can get a suspension.

  • When a Driver Uses a Suspended License or No License

A driver can get an elongated suspension or five-year imprisonment if caught driving without a license or driving with a suspended license.

  • A Minor in Possession of Drugs or Alcohol

A minor’s license can be suspended if they get caught with drugs or alcohol while driving or not.

What Is the Difference Between Suspension and Revocation of a Driver’s License?

A suspension prevents you from driving for a limited period, after which you can get your license back. But a revocation is a cancellation of your current license, which will force you to make a new application, after investigation, to get a new one.

What Are the Implications of Driver’s License Suspension?

If your driver’s license is suspended or revoked, there are several implications.

  • Cancellation of an Insurance Policy or Higher Premiums

An insurance firm may demand higher premiums from a “high risk” driver or cancel the driver’s insurance policy.

  • Driving Ban

You can’t drive for as long as the revocation stands. Driving with a suspended license is criminal and will attract severe sanctions. The only possible way out will be to get a restricted driving permit.

  • High Reinstatement Cost and Fines

Revocation attracts a fine, and getting a new license can be stressful and costly. However, hiring an experienced Boise DUI attorney will make a huge difference.

Hire a DUI Attorney to Get Your License Reinstated

Has your license been suspended or revoked? Boise DUI Guy is the legal team to call for a hassle-free and result-driven license reinstatement process. We are as eager as you are to see you get back on the road again.

If you give us a call right now, we will listen to you, give your case a thorough examination and protect your rights. Contact our experienced criminal defense attorneys today.

boise dui

Signs Police Look For In DUI Stops

One of the first things new clients tell us when we meet is that the cops had no right to pull them over. Some insist that the police followed them for miles until they made the slightest mistake. Others claim that the cops were waiting outside a bar all night waiting to pull customers over.…
boise dui lawyer

Police Waiting Outside Bars for Arrests

As a DUI lawyer, we’ve heard some really scary things. You may have heard stories about people being arrested as soon as they pulled out of the parking lot of a bar or nightclub. Within a minute or two of pulling away, the person saw the telltale red and blue lights in their rearview mirror.…
Boise DUI Attorney

Reduced to Wet Reckless Charge

Can a DUI attorney reduce your charge? When you get a regular traffic ticket, it isn’t hard to get the prosecutor to agree to a lesser charge. For example, if you were caught driving 20 miles above the speed limit, they may agree to change it to a seatbelt ticket. Typically, the prosecutor will talk…